Beauty

“I Don’t Feel Pretty”: A Product Review

I have lived in the same apartment for over a year now, and over a year I have struggled with unmanageable, sticky, nasty hair. “I don’t feel pretty” is a recent statement that I have made to my husband regarding my hair. Something I believe nobody should feel. The town I live in is known for the fact that all the water is “hard water”. For those that don’t know what that is, it is commonly described as “water which contains a high concentration of calcium and magnesium ions”. The effect of it on many things can be…well…annoying. The most annoying thing, to me, is the effect it has on my hair. When hard water is applied to your hair it can cause the scales of your hair to stand straight up. When this happens it makes the hair tangled, rough, unmanageable. This particular thing also makes it very hard to rinse soap, which in return can cause build up leaving the hair heavy, greasy, etc. So for over a year I have taken a shower, got out, and immediately put my hair in a bun…EVERY SINGLE DAY! Now…I don’t know about you, but I don’t think a bun is the most flattering all the time. I would like to be able to straighten it, curl it, wave it, whatever, but I can’t. I have tried all kinds of off brand soaps, drug store products, homemade remedies, and nothing has worked. If I lived in a house I would just install a water filter on the shower head or a water filter pump throughout the whole place, but being in an apartment leaves me with limited solutions. This past weekend I broke down and bought a “name brand” product. Something I wish I would have bought a year ago, Redken Hair Cleansing Cream Shampoo. It is the holy grail of cleansing creams! I know some people won’t like it because it isn’t a natural remedy, but I haven’t found anything better.

http://www.ulta.com/ulta/browse/productDetail.jsp?productId=xlsImpprod3100023#

2015-02-25_0001.jpg

I bought mine at Ulta, the 10.1 oz for $15.50. I then followed the directions for “heavy build up” and applied it to my hair and let it sit for 15 minutes. I then rinsed it out and followed it with a moisturizing conditioner since it can and will dry your hair out when stripping the bad and good build up. The next morning for the first time in at least 6 months I curled my hair and the day after that I straightened my hair. It hasn’t felt or looked this good in over a year!
2015-02-25_0003.jpg

This is something I would definitely recommend! I told my husband multiple times last weekend that I felt pretty. It is so important to me that others feel good about themselves, it’s hard to practice what I preach when I don’t feel that way.
2015-02-25_0002.jpg

Do you have any hair remedies that work for you? Let me know in the comments below.

PLEASE become a VIP and “Subscribe’ at the top of the page! (VIP tab will be at the bottom of the page if viewing on your cell phone)

Thank you for reading! 🙂

Riley

Leave a Reply

