Personal

Follow Me Around: Omaha Zoo!

For those that follow me on Snapchat (rileyannette) You already know I had an amazing time at the zoo, all 240 seconds of it! ๐Ÿ˜€ but if not, this post is for you. ๐Ÿ˜‰

My husband and I had some vacation days we got to take before he started his new orders. So not only did we get to spend time with our family, we went on a mini vacay and took a day trip to the Omaha’s Henry Doorly Zoo and Aquarium. It is about 3 hours and 30 minutes from where we live. David had never been there so it was extra exciting!

http://www.omahazoo.com/

2015-04-19_0001.jpg
I wanted to be extra comfortable since I knew I would be walking around. I wore my favorite flowy shirt (CATO), paired with SPANX leggings. I then accessorized with silver, sparkly TOMS, a Charming Charlie’s necklace, and a super cute owl satchel.
2015-04-19_0002.jpg
My hair and makeup were pretty simple. A warm, smokey eye paired with a nude lip. Then for hair, I scrunched it and just twisted back my bangs. If anyone wants a full product list, let me know in the comments below!! ๐Ÿ˜€
2015-04-19_0003.jpg
The night before I prepped sandwiches, diet green tea, and water bottles. That way we didn’t have to stop on the way there.
2015-04-19_0005.jpg
We did have to stop at Sonic for breakfast burritos and coffee though!
2015-04-19_0006.jpg
After 3+ hours, we made it!!
2015-04-19_0004.jpg
Did anyone else know that they were voted #1 Zoo in the world! So cool!
2015-04-19_0016.jpg
The first place we stopped was the Desert Dome. This is also the world’s largest, indoor desert! You walk in and the temperature goes from normal-to-HOT! Perfect for the cute, desert creatures. Underneath the dome is an AMAZING exhibit called “Kingdom’s of the Night”. It is filled with nocturnal animals. Alligators, wet caves, etc.
2015-04-19_0011.jpg
We then went to Hubbard Gorilla Valley. We were actually there the day before the glass cracking incident. If you don’t know what I am talking about, I will leave a link below!
2015-04-19_0009.jpg
They were very intertaing to watch. haha
2015-04-19_0010.jpg
One of my favorite exhibits! All the bears were great, but this sleepy, black bear…tooo perfect!
2015-04-19_0012.jpg
The Cat Complex was AMAZING! So many different species. The lions even had adorable cubs!
2015-04-19_0013.jpg
On arrival, we were given free tickets for the Skyfari ride. This is a huge ski-lift-style ride that takes you over 20 minutes of zoo. We got to see the new renovations they are putting in. I hope to go back and see everything once they are done.
2015-04-19_0014.jpg
Along with the zoo, they have an aquarium, which includes a 70 foot shark tunnel!
2015-04-19_0007.jpg
The last exhibit we visited was the Lied Jungle. America’s largest indoor reinforest. It was beautiful!
2015-04-19_0008.jpg
One of my favorite features was this waterfall! So relaxing!
2015-04-19_0015.jpg
They even had a rope-like-bridge. (Which is where we took this picture) Right after this I had to put my hair up. It was SO humid to accommodate the rainforest animals.
After the zoo we went and got the oil changed. Long-story short, it's to keep a warranty we have on our car. :)
After the zoo, we went and got our oil changed on our car. Long story short, it’s to keep a warranty we have. ๐Ÿ™‚
And lastly, we ended our day at Red Lobster. One of Davids favorite restaurants!
And lastly, we ended our day at Red Lobster. One of Davids favorite restaurants.
A beautiful ending to a beautiful day. :D
A beautiful ending to a beautiful day. ๐Ÿ˜€

I would totally recommend this Zoo to anyone! It has so many great things and does offer a small military discount! It was well worth the drive!!!

If you have any suggestions on something I should write about, leave it in the comments below.

PLEASE become a VIP and โ€œSubscribe” at the top of the page! (VIP tab will be at the bottom of the page if viewing on your cell phone)

Thank you for reading! ๐Ÿ™‚

Riley

Leave a Reply

