Beauty

7 Tools Your Makeup Routine Really Needs!

“What type of products do you use?”
“Why does my makeup look different than yours?”
“Can you teach me how to do this?”
These are just a few of the questions I get on a daily basis. And in my opinion, it is not always how much you spent on something, but the way you use it. So the following products are things that I have found to make all the difference when it comes to my makeup routine.
The first thing that most people don’t realize is the importance of a good moisturizer. Dry and oily skin both…I have done plenty of demonstrations on clients showing them how hard it is to apply foundation when their skin is not properly prepped. One of my favorite moisturizer for oily/combination skin is the Neutrogena Hydro Boost Water Gel. It is about $20 and can be found at Target, Walgreens, etc. They even have another one that is specifically for dry skin.
2015-06-10_0002.jpg

The next thing that makes a difference for a perfect makeup application is a good foundation brush. I have tried many different ones and my favorite at this time is the Eco Tools Domed Bronzer Brush. Although it is titled as a “bronzer brush” it does amazing things for liquid foundation. It is dense enough to evenly distribute the product and buff it onto the skin. This specific brush is only $9.99 and can be found at Walmart, Walgreens, etc.
2015-06-10_0004.jpg

Another brush that is super important to a flawless face is a good blending brush. A dense, flat-topped brush is all it takes. Mine is a random one I have had forever. Morphe Brushes has a really great one that I would recommend. I’ll link it below.
G6 – FLAT BUFFER
This brush is what you would use to blend out bronzers, blushes, contour, etc. Blending is what makes the difference between a good makeup application and a great one. 😉
2015-06-10_0003.jpg

The fourth thing that I think is really important is eyeshadow primer. I’ve said it before and I will say it again, you can use pretty much ANY eyeshadow as long as you have a good primer as a base. I’ve also done demonstrations for clients on this and many were amazed at how well their “crappy eyeshadow” applied when the lid was prepped with a good primer. My favorite primer is the Lorac Behind The Scenes Eye Primer. It is $21 and can be found at Ulta or Loracs website.
2015-06-10_0005.jpg

The next thing I stress to my clients is when applying foundation or concealer you need to set it afterward. Not only does a good primer help make your makeup last…so does a good setting powder. It eliminates creasing and running throughout the day. My favorite one is Coty Airspun Loose Face Powder in the color “Translucent Extra Coverage”. It does have a smell, but after applied it goes away. It has done amazing things for me and seems to stay all day. This particular powder I own is about $8 and can be found at Walmart, Walgreens, etc.
2015-06-10_0006.jpg

The second to last thing I always recommend to others is a good tinted eyebrow gel. Even if you aren’t wanting to fill in your eyebrows a good tinted gel pulls everything together and keeps each hair in place. The one I find myself reaching for often is the Femme Couture Perfect Arch Universal Tint Brow Gel. I buy mine at Sally’s Beauty Supply for about $7.50. You don’t have to be skilled at shaping or drawing on your eyebrows to use this stuff, it’s for beginners. 🙂
2015-06-10_0007.jpg

The last product that I would say makes a HUGE different in the way my makeup comes out is a good setting spray. Before I got into makeup I was a bit skeptical about this one. I had tried all kinds of drug store sprays and had never seen a difference. I finally bought the Urban Decay Setting Spray (All-Nighter and De-Slick) and fell in love! It is AMAZING! My friends are always joking my makeup stays put when we are out in humid weather or even if we randomly decide to go swimming. It is totally worth the $30! You can pick it up at Sephora, Ulta, etc.
2015-06-10_0008.jpg

That is it! 7 Tools Your Makeup Routine Really Needs!
**All things above are suggestions, many other products are capable of giving the same result.
2015-06-10_0009.jpg

If you have any suggestions on something I should write about, leave it in the comments below.

There are so many good things coming up sooo…PLEASE become a VIP and “Subscribe” at the top of the page! (VIP tab will be at the bottom of the page if viewing on your cell phone)

Thank you for reading! 🙂

Riley

Leave a Reply

